Download the Pict.AI iOS App, Free

Pict AI vs Luma: Which Tool Fits Your Project?

Pict AI vs Luma is primarily a choice between photo editing and video generation, not two equivalent video platforms. Pict.AI offers a free AI photo editor app for iPhone and Android, plus a website with guides and free image tools. Luma’s Dream Machine supports text-to-video, image-to-video, and video modification with Ray3.2. Choose the photo editor for still-image work; choose Luma when generating motion is the essential task.

At a glance
Best fitPict AI: still-image editing. Luma: generated video and motion workflows.
Luma monthly plansPlus $30; Pro $90; Ultra $300, as of September 2026.
Luma included credits10,000 / 40,000 / 150,000 credits per month, respectively.
Native generated clip lengthLuma Ray3.2 text-to-video and image-to-video: 5 or 10 seconds.
Video outputLuma Ray3.2 API: 540p, 720p, and native 1080p.
Photo editor costFree iPhone/Android photo editor; no comparable video subscription specified.

Pict.AI vs Luma: head-to-head

CriterionPict.AILuma
Still-image workflowFree photo editor and image toolsImage generation within a broader creative platform
Text-to-videoNo comparable workflow specifiedSupported with Ray3.2
Image-to-videoNo comparable workflow specified5- or 10-second native generations
Existing-footage transformationNo comparable workflow specifiedModify Video with frame-rate-dependent limits
Monthly consumer costFree photo editor optionPlus $30; Pro $90; Ultra $300
Video APINo comparable specificationDocumented API; 5-second billing blocks
Current video outputNo video resolution specified540p, 720p, and native 1080p through the API

Choose Pict AI when your deliverable is a still image and you want a free photo-editing option. Choose Luma when you need text-to-video, image-to-video, or video modification, and budget for both the subscription and repeat generations. They can serve different stages of the same project rather than replacing each other.

The practical difference: editing a picture versus generating motion

The first question is what you need to deliver. A finished photograph, wallpaper, or other still image calls for an image workflow. A moving product shot, animated scene, or short visual sequence calls for a video generator. Comparing these tools without separating those jobs makes subscription prices and feature lists misleading.

Luma is the appropriate choice between these two for text-to-video and image-to-video. Its Dream Machine platform supports image and video generation, and its current video model is Ray3.2, released in June 2026. The platform also covers audio and related creative generation, although the video specifications are the most relevant part of this comparison.

Pict.AI is an AI photo editor app for iPhone/Android and a website with guides and free image tools. Its image-oriented offering should not be treated as an equivalent Ray3.2 video service. A current, comparable text-to-video model, video-duration allowance, and video API specification are not specified for the photo editor.

If you are searching for a luma alternative app, distinguish an alternative for still-image work from an alternative for generating clips. A photo editor can handle the first requirement, but it does not replace motion generation. For projects containing both photographs and video, the two tool categories can be complementary rather than competing purchases.

How Luma turns prompts, images, and existing footage into video

Luma offers three distinct starting points. Text-to-video creates a clip from a written description. Image-to-video uses a still image as the starting visual reference. Video-to-video, also called Modify Video, begins with existing footage. Choosing the right starting point matters more than writing an unnecessarily long prompt.

For a product already photographed, image-to-video is the relevant workflow: the source image supplies its initial appearance, while the prompt describes the intended action or camera movement. For a scene that does not exist yet, text-to-video is more suitable. When the timing and movement already exist in recorded footage, Modify Video provides a different route.

Ray3.2 text-to-video and image-to-video support 5- or 10-second native generations. These are individual shots, not a complete long-form editing timeline. A 30-second sequence therefore needs multiple generated shots or another workflow, followed by assembly in a video editor. Allow for alternatives and rejected outputs when planning the number of generations.

The Luma API documents 540p, 720p, and native 1080p output. API video billing uses 5-second blocks, so a 10-second output counts as two blocks. That billing unit is not a universal consumer-credit price: resolution and operation still matter. Likewise, API specifications should not be read as a promise that every consumer plan exposes identical settings.

A five-step workflow for choosing and producing your first asset

Start with one deliverable rather than buying a plan for an entire campaign. A single still image or short shot reveals whether you need editing, generation, or both. Keep the source material, target format, and intended use consistent when comparing results.

  1. Define the output. Write down whether you need a still image, a 5-second shot, a 10-second shot, or modified footage. Include the intended placement, such as a product page or a social video. If the deliverable has no movement, begin with a photo editor.
  2. Prepare the input. For an image workflow, select the picture you want to edit. For Luma image-to-video, select a clear starting image. For text-to-video, describe the subject, setting, action, and camera movement. For Modify Video, check the footage duration and frame rate first.
  3. Limit the first attempt. Use one subject and one main action. A prompt such as “A ceramic mug on a wooden table; the camera slowly moves closer; soft window light” provides a more focused starting point than several scene changes in one short clip.
  4. Inspect the actual deliverable. Review a still image at the intended display size. Watch a video from beginning to end, checking subject shape, unintended movement, background changes, and whether the shot remains usable throughout its duration. Do not judge a clip solely by its opening frame.
  5. Budget revisions before scaling. Note the credit charge shown for the selected Luma operation and reserve room for additional attempts. Export only after checking the available resolution and applicable usage terms. Assemble multiple shots separately if your final video exceeds a native generation’s length.

This approach also separates a tool mismatch from a generation problem. If your real requirement is motion, repeated still-image edits will not solve it. If you only need a better photograph, generating video adds unnecessary steps and cost.

Luma pricing and the head-to-head feature comparison

As of September 2026, Luma has three listed consumer subscriptions. Plus costs $30 per month with 10,000 monthly credits; Pro costs $90 with 40,000; Ultra costs $300 with 150,000. Annual prices are $300, $900, and $3,000 respectively. Those annual totals equal ten monthly payments, making annual billing about 16.7% cheaper than twelve monthly payments.

FeaturePict AI photo workflowLuma Dream Machine
Primary taskStill-image editing and image toolsImage generation, video generation, and video modification
Entry optionFree iPhone/Android photo editorTrial credits; paid plans start at $30/month
Current video modelNo comparable video model specifiedRay3.2
Text-to-video and image-to-videoNo comparable video workflow specified5- or 10-second native generations
Video resolutionNo video resolution specified540p, 720p, and 1080p in the API
Video modificationNo comparable workflow specifiedModify Video, with frame-rate-dependent limits
Developer accessNo comparable video API specifiedAPI with video billed in 5-second blocks

Luma’s current app plans also allow an additional spending limit when included credits run out. Treat that setting as part of the budget, not an unlimited allowance. Subscriptions include priority processing for image and video generation, but priority is not a fixed completion-time guarantee.

Monthly credits cannot be converted into a reliable clip count without the charge for the operation you intend to use. Dividing 10,000 credits by an unrelated model’s generation cost gives a misleading estimate. Check the selected model, duration, resolution, and displayed charge together before choosing a tier.

Video limits, output quality, and costs to check before subscribing

Luma’s Modify Video limits depend on frame rate: up to 20 seconds at 24 fps, 15 seconds at 30 fps, or 7 seconds at 60 fps. A 20-second source is therefore not within the stated limit at every frame rate. Check this before preparing footage or assuming that a subscription will accept a particular clip.

Resolution also needs careful interpretation. Native 1080p is documented for the current API. A 4K wallpaper specification describes a still image, not generated 4K video. Similarly, older Ray2 references do not establish Ray3.2 capabilities. Do not choose a plan on the assumption that a current consumer 4K video maximum follows from either claim.

There is no defensible numerical quality winner across these two product categories. A photo editor and a video generator solve different problems, and a polished single frame does not establish temporal consistency. For video, inspect motion across the entire shot; for an edited image, inspect the details that matter at its final display size.

Generation speed varies with model, resolution, queue load, and subscription priority. No fixed Ray3.2 completion time is specified here. Higher-resolution or higher-quality operations can consume more credits, so compare the actual settings rather than assuming every generation has the same cost. Finally, check commercial-use permissions for the specific plan and assets before publishing client work; a subscription price alone does not settle licensing.

Which tool to choose for photos, product clips, and broader comparisons

For still-image work, begin with the photo editor. This is the relevant choice when the finished asset is a picture and video generation would add no value. The decision is about the output you need, not whether one platform has a longer feature list.

For short generated product shots, concept scenes, or motion from an existing image, choose Luma between these two. Its 5- and 10-second generation lengths fit individual shots. For transforming recorded movement, examine Modify Video and its frame-rate limits. For automated generation inside another product, Luma’s documented API is the relevant distinction.

Related searches need the same separation. A pict ai vs higgsfield comparison should distinguish still-image editing from a broader creative studio. If you need a kling alternative app or a runway alternative app, compare video-generation workflows, duration, controls, and cost rather than treating any AI photo app as an interchangeable substitute.

For still-image decisions, pict ai vs chatgpt and pict ai vs gemini raise a different question: whether you want a dedicated photo workflow or a conversational tool. Searches for pict ai vs flux and pict ai vs ideogram should likewise focus on the image task and the product interface involved, rather than importing Luma’s video specifications into an unrelated comparison.

The practical choice is straightforward: use an image tool for a picture and a video tool for motion. If a project needs both, prepare the still asset first, then choose an appropriate video workflow instead of expecting one category to replace the other.

Pict AI vs Luma: Which Tool Fits Your Project?

Frequently asked questions

Is Pict AI a direct alternative to Luma Dream Machine?

Not for the same video tasks. The photo editor is an option for still-image work, while Luma Dream Machine supports text-to-video, image-to-video, and Modify Video. A comparable current video model, clip-duration allowance, and video API are not specified for the photo editor. Choose by the required output rather than treating the tools as interchangeable.

How much does Luma cost in September 2026?

Luma Plus costs $30 per month with 10,000 monthly credits. Pro costs $90 with 40,000 credits, and Ultra costs $300 with 150,000 credits. Annual subscriptions cost $300, $900, and $3,000 respectively. The platform also offers trial credits and an additional spending-limit setting for use after included credits are exhausted.

Can I turn a photo into a video with Luma?

Yes. Luma supports image-to-video generation with Ray3.2, using a still image as the starting visual reference. Native generated clips are 5 or 10 seconds long. Prepare a clear source image and describe the intended movement, then review the entire output for unwanted changes. A photo-editing workflow alone does not provide equivalent motion generation.

Does Luma Ray3.2 generate 4K video?

The current Ray3.2 API specifies 540p, 720p, and native 1080p output. A current consumer maximum of 4K is not specified here. Older Ray2 references and 4K still-image or wallpaper specifications should not be treated as Ray3.2 video capabilities. Check the available output settings for the exact operation before planning a 4K deliverable.

How long can Luma-generated videos be?

Ray3.2 text-to-video and image-to-video support 5- or 10-second native generations. Modify Video accepts up to 20 seconds at 24 fps, 15 seconds at 30 fps, or 7 seconds at 60 fps. These limits describe different workflows. Longer finished sequences require assembling multiple shots or using another suitable production workflow.

How many Luma videos can I make with 10,000 credits?

There is no single clip count for 10,000 credits because consumption depends on the selected operation and settings. Duration, resolution, and quality affect the budget. Check the displayed generation charge before estimating output volume, and reserve credits for revisions. The API’s 5-second billing blocks are a separate billing unit, not a consumer-credit conversion.

Which should I choose for product photos and short product videos?

Choose a photo editor when the final deliverable is a still product image. Choose Luma when you need generated movement, such as a short shot starting from an existing product photograph. For a project requiring both, prepare the still image first, then use image-to-video. Review the generated clip carefully for changes to product shape and details.